Interview Spotlight: New to Locs?

We’re back Loves!

It is my mission to talk to as many of you who embrace your curls out in the world.  I will stop and talk to educate myself on healthy and lovely hair, no matter how he/she chooses to wear their hair.

This week I spotted a *Naturalista at my busstop on my way to work who is in the beginning stages of loc’ing her hair. I find it interesting.

* For all intensive purposes and protection of privacy the interviewee will remain anonymous.

Read on…

NH: Hi there, wow look at how great your curls look

*Interviewee: Yeah, I’ve just started loc’ing my hair. A lady started the locs and its just started. The curls in the back are loc’ing faster than those in the front (showing the tighter curl patten in the back).

NH: Do you mind if I take a closer look at your locs? Can I touch one?

Interviewee: Sure. Go right ahead.

NH: Do you mind me asking why you decided to transition to locs?

Interviewee: I’m adopting two little girls and it did not take me long to figure out I’d be spending a lot of much needed time doing alot of hair. The locs are lower maitenance than my afro or twists.

NH: That makes perfect sense. So, what products are you using?

Interviewee: I am allergic to bees wax so have to use a product (name I don’t recall). I have it in my phone. I’ll share it with you.*Don’t worry the Interviewee shared pics of the product that she uses (left frame)

NH: (Taking pic of product on phone). Thank you for your time.

My thoughts:  I’ve never heard of anyone being allergic to bee’s wax, but any product that states no animal testing or harsh or harmful chemicals used deserves taking a second look.  However, I no longer purchase beeswax. It’s a sealing product which doesn’t necessarily allow the hair to breath.

Products

Nature's Blessing, Locs

Nature’s Blessings
Locs, Let's Dred
Let’s Dred

IMG_5732

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christine Waysome-Henderson

Christine Waysome-Henderson is a Natural Hair Care Consultant & Founder of Natural Hairess & Co. LLC. She educates individuals how to care for their natural hair organically. Christine is degreed and holds both an undergraduate degree from George Mason University and an MBA Graduate Degree in Business Management. She resides in Northern Virginia with her husband and three children. For more hair wisdom, visit Natural Hairess & Co.

Leave a Reply

