Two-Strand Twists go Up And The Twist Out Comes Down

Are you Ready? Let’s get to it!

To achieve a Twist Out, you’ll Need the Following:

Twists

*Sulfate-Free Shampoo & Conditioner

* Light Hair Oil

* Rubber Bands

* Comb and Brush

* Hair Gel (to seal twisted ends)

Updo

* Updo Optional: Thread Needle or Pins

* Hair Gel (for hairline/stray hair)

Twist Out

* Light Hair Oil

* Moisturizer or Refresher

* Hair Flower

Details

I washed my daughter’s hair with Shea Butter Moisture’s shampoo and conditioner and lightly towel dried. I combed through my daughter’s hair and parted each section in a small square as it air dried. Within each square, I parted the hair and secured it with a small rubber band. I two-hand twisted each section throughout her head  I put a light oil on the scalp and then took her to my neice who is a loctician and had her style it in an undo. My daughter doesn’t have locs, but we take advantage of the same  styling techniques that can be done with twists as well. Partly, because she’s had a classmate cut her hair. My neice twisted her loose hair in an updo and secured it by sewing it up with a needle and thread for a a sure stay. The pic shows the outcome. (Pic: Side Profile and Back View)

Two-Strand Twist Sew Up
Two-Strand Twist Sew Up

This style took me some time and patience. This style can last quite some time (approx. 1-2 weeks). This style was great for school days, all you have to do is  but a satin bonnet over it at night and before you get up and go brush up around hair edges with Ecostyle gel and use a light oils for thirsty roots.

I did a twist out about two weeks later. To liven up this old hair, I ran my fingers through her hair with moisturizer and added light oils to add sheen to this twist out. I added a flower to her hair and we actually took family pictures that day.

Twist Out w/Flower
Twist Out w/Flower

Please leave your comments below and check out my 5 Product Faves.

IMG_5732

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christine Waysome-Henderson

Christine Waysome-Henderson is a Natural Hair Care Consultant & Founder of Natural Hairess & Co. LLC. She educates individuals how to care for their natural hair organically. Christine is degreed and holds both an undergraduate degree from George Mason University and an MBA Graduate Degree in Business Management. She resides in Northern Virginia with her husband and three children. For more hair wisdom, visit Natural Hairess & Co.

Leave a Reply

