Cornrows

Cornrows are one of the oldest forms of braiding that I can remember as a child. I always preferred the individual braids to cornrows as I liked my hair to be fuller. I started getting individual braids when I was a teenager to strengthen my hair and take a break from the daily styling. As an adult, I have worn cornrows as apart of another style, like tree braids and when I was going to deliver my unborn son and the weeks thereafter to limit upkeep of my natural hair so I could dedicate all my energies to my newborn son.
I’m all about educating oneself, so I’m sharing what I’ve learned about this protective hair style.
Image
Cornrows originated from Africa
  • Cornrows, also known as rows, braids, or canerows in the Caribbean, are a traditional African style of hair grooming where the hair is braided very close to the scalp, using an underhand, upward motion to produce a continuous, raised row.
    My family is from Jamaica and we call this hairstyle, “Canerows”.
    Nowadays, an increasing amount of adult men grow their mane and opt to wear cornrows for ease of upkeep. However, girls and women wear cornrows as well. I’m sharing one of my daughter’s photo shoots past. For this shoot she wore cornrows for a local hair magazine. For her, this hair style served as a protective style for her daily cheer practices.  Her hair was braided with synthetic hair. She chose to uptick the hair color from her natural color and the braided ends were coiled for flair.


Cornrows

ImageImageImage
ImageImage Image

Image

My daughter, Taiylor pictured with cornrows

 For more about the history of Cornrows, I found this teaching material interesting and connect with us on Twitter.

IMG_5732

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christine Waysome-Henderson

Christine Waysome-Henderson is a Natural Hair Care Consultant & Founder of Natural Hairess & Co. LLC. She educates individuals how to care for their natural hair organically. Christine is degreed and holds both an undergraduate degree from George Mason University and an MBA Graduate Degree in Business Management. She resides in Northern Virginia with her husband and three children. For more hair wisdom, visit Natural Hairess & Co. 

2 thoughts on “Cornrows

  1. Isleofazure that’s funny you mention that, I’m still perfecting this technique 🙂 I enjoy your comments and appreciate you following my blog. I aim to inspire, educate, keep it positive, smart, and fun. Please share with a friend and stay tuned as there is more to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

