Interview Featuring Nadine Whitaker

Hello Curlies,
You are only as strong as your Curl Tribe right? I had the pleasure of interviewing Nadine, one of the lead members of 3 Girls and a Curl. I received an exclusive insider interview on how Nadine maintains her beautiful healthy natural hair. Her Natural Hair Journey is inspiring and I wanted to share her story with our community. Read on…
nadine
Pictured: Nadine Whitaker
Q: Who is Nadine? Describe yourself in 100 words or less.
A: Nadine is a wife, mother, daughter and sister. I’m a business woman and focused on being successful.  My word is my bond! If I promise 100%, I will deliver 100%.
Q: How long have you been Natural? and why did you choose to go Natural?
A: I transitioned back to natural a little over 4 years ago. The health of my hair was at stake. After the heat damage was treated, I thought to myself “what do I have to lose by becoming natural?”
Q: Did you big chop or Transition?
A: I transitioned, and cut the last bit of perm (a few inches) out of my hair last year.
Q: What has been your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?
A: My biggest challenge was understanding the needs of MY hair. It took me about a year (maybe longer) to find out what products work for ME, and a regimen that works for ME. I realized that no 2 naturals are identical. What may work for one, may not work for another.
Q. What do you love most about your natural hair?
A: My hair is the healthiest it’s ever been. It’s super thick and long (the shrinkage though, ugh). I remember the days when I would wrap my hair at night and I would rock the same hair style every singe day (boring). Now, I never really know how my hair will turn out the next day, and I love it! I love the versatility! Options!
Q. What is your current regimen? What does wash day look like for you?
A: I am a firm believer in the LOC method (leave-in, oil, cream). I’ve tried different product here and there (what natural hasn’t?), but I’ve never strayed from the LOC method. Wash day for me is 1) Pre-poo with coconut oil – Coconut oil prevents protein loss, and it also penetrates the hair shaft better than many other oils.  So adding this to your hair prior to shampooing it, will give you the best protection from breakage before you shampoo your hair. 2)Wash with a sulphate free shampoos (Alikay Naturals – Coconut Milk Shampoo). 3) Condition (right now I’m using the Aussie 3 minute miracle) I condition and finger detangle at the same time. Then rinse with cool water. 4) Lastly, I use the LOC method before completing my braid or twist out. 
Q. What are a few of your product faves (wash, conditioner, co-wash, styler)?
A: I absolutely love the Alikay Naturals Coconut Milk shampoo. I also love the Alikay Naturals Lemongrass Leave-In Conditioner ( I use this leave-in for my roller-sets, twist outs and braid outs). For my wash & go, I use Karen’s Body Beautiful as my leave-in (I have discovered that since my hair is so thick, I need a cream based leave-in for my Wash & Go).  I also love the One and Only Argan Oil.
Q. What are your Staple Products?
A: These are the products I will probably never stray from: Alikay Naturals Coconut Milk Shampoo, Alikay Naturals Lemongrass Leave-In Conditioner, Karens Body Beautiful Leave-In Conditioner, Argan Oil.
Q: What is your Go to Natural Hairstyle?
A: In the summer, I will rock a wash & go all day everyday. When the temps start to drop, is when I will start wearing more twist outs. When it’s extremely cold I will wear protective styles (my favorite for the winter is Goddess Braids)
Q. Who is your natural hair crush? and why?
A: Leela James. I love that fact that her hair is not “tame”. Big hair, don’t care. She does not conform when it comes to her hair. I actually get a lot of my hair style ideas for looking a gorgeous pictures of her.
Q: What advice would you provide to someone discouraged with their natural hair journey?

A: DO NOT get discouraged. You will not be beautiful everyday! You will have days where you think your hair is at war with you. It becomes a lot easier as you work out a regimen and a routine, and find what products work for YOU. Being natural is work. Your hair needs lots of love and attention. If you love your hair, it will love you back (and that’s when all of the hair compliments start flowing).

rhonv_bloggertasha
Pictured with HairSay Blogger, LaTasha Durrett
and Durrett’s Friend at a RHONV Networking Event
I (pictured: left center) had the pleasure of being introduced to Nadine (pictured: far right) at a networking event this past Spring and fell in love with her passion for celebrating the curl. Nadine not only lives it, she is active and dedicated in her own community taking it to the streets through 3 Girls and a Curl, which is the area’s newest Premier Extraordinaire Event Organization that delivers only the best in Natural Hair Social Events and Community Meetups. 3 Girls and a Curl Events are sponsored by Natural Hair focused brands such as Tropic Isle Living, Curls, and other industry brands whose products consist of natural ingredients that offer the ultimate protection of your curls. These events are held in Woodbridge, Va which has a growing population of women who wear their hair natural seeking a community and exceptional products that sustain their natural tresses. These events draw scores of women to each vip sold out event. To follow 3 Girls and a Curl, follow on social media
I want to thank Nadine for giving us an exclusive insider’s look into her natural hair journey. To read my hair story, visit this page and look out for an upcoming Fall Interview featuring the third member of 3 Girls and a Curl. 

IMG_5732

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Christine Waysome-Henderson

Christine Waysome-Henderson is a Natural Hair Care Consultant & Founder of Natural Hairess & Co. LLC. She educates individuals how to care for their natural hair organically. Christine is degreed and holds both an undergraduate degree from George Mason University and an MBA Graduate Degree in Business Management. She resides in Northern Virginia with her husband and three children. For more hair wisdom, visit http://www.naturalhairess.com.

2 thoughts on “Interview Featuring Nadine Whitaker

Leave a Reply

